Phil Gurin

President, Unscripted & Alternative, IM Global Television

Founder of The Gurin Company, one of the industry’s leading independent creators, producers and distributors of non-scripted television, Gurin has been responsible for executive producing, creating and writing thousands of hours of television across multiple genres including live event, game, music, hidden camera, comedy, stunt, clip show, factual, dramatic re-enactment, docu-soaps and formatted reality.  Gurin’s shows have aired on every major U.S. broadcast network, many cable networks, and in over 150 countries around the world.   Gurin has won three Primetime Emmy Awards as an Executive Producer on ABC’s Shark Tank, and an international Rose d’Or (Golden Rose) for the comedy game show Oh Sit! which he co-created for The CW.  In the past year, Gurin has created and executive produced original new formats for ITV1 (UK), NBC (USA) and CBC (Canada).

Gurin began his career as a writer on MTV's Remote Control and on Nickelodeon's Double Dare, Make the Grade and Wild And Crazy Kids.  Establishing his own company in 1997, he went on to produce CBSCandid Camera in primetime for four years, which was followed by an extensive run of shows on NBC, including Twenty One, Weakest Link, The Singing Bee, Miss Universe, Miss USA, and Miss Teen USA.  Other live events include Women Rock (Lifetime), US Olympic Hall of Fame (USA, NBC), New Years Eve Live!, Test the Nation, KISS Live! (FOX), and Joan and Melissa: Live From the Red Carpet (TVGN).  Other series and specials include Lingo, All New 3’s A Crowd (GSN), Wanna Bet (ABC), Your Chance To Dance, Win Lose Or Pawn (CMT) and When Cameras Cross The Line (FOX). He developed and produces the prestigious Hall of Fame gala event for the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.  Along with Reggie Hudlin, Gurin is Executive Producer of the NAACP Image Awards and Image Awards Live Red Carpet shows for TV One.

Gurin serves on the Executive Board of Directors for NATPE (National Association of Television and Programming Executives) where he developed the NATPE REALITY annual conference and market; is Co-Chairman of the international non-profit organization FRAPA (Format Recognition and Protection Association), and was recently elected by the Television Academy to serve on the Executive Committee of the Producers’ Peer Group. 

Return to Executives Overview